Thursday, July 3, 2014

Ethics on the internet: Does it actually exist?

The biggest and most discussed internet story of the past week has been Facebook’s social experiment. A controversial research experiment where Facebook’s data team using an algorithm manipulated the news feeds of 689,003 users for one week in January 2012 to be either all positive posts or all negative posts. The research was done in order to evaluate whether users write more positive or negative posts when seeing only positive or negative content on their news feed (the research showed that they in fact did).


As helpful the research might be on a sociological scale to help us understand the behavior of humans in specific situations during a period of time, the research raised a serious question of ethics on the internet. How far are internet marketers, and web-masters in general, allowed to go for the sake of research or to simply get ahead of the competition on the internet - the land where anything and everything is possible? Most areas of the internet are so tough and competitive that it is the concept of survival of the fittest which rules, and in such an environment it is common to see all tricks in play; ethical or not. So is there a thing called ethics on the internet?

An obvious place to start looking at ethics when in the field of internet marketing is a place we are all familiar with no matter what niche we engage in, SEO. The internet overflows with websites and companies telling us how to get to the top of the search rankings, but many of these ‘tricks’ are seen as unethical or borderline. Whether it being keyword stuffing or invisible text, the internet community as a whole have agreed that this is unethical behavior, and during the last 5-10 years Google have been giving harder punishments for websites being guilty of black hat SEO techniques to the extent that it is widely considered as an offense as much as its considered unethical.


Where black hat SEO is being unethical to other websites and businesses by getting an edge over them in the search rankings, a much more grave, although less discussed, unethical behavior is the tricks websites use towards its customers or potential customers. That isn't to say that websites should advertise all their lacking and shortcomings, but isn't it unethical to pretend to be something you’re not? But most standard definitions is it unethical and the deceit will not go unnoticed, and in the long run it will hurt your business.

The responsibility we have toward the public goes much further than not being deceitful of course. On the website of the Internet Marketing Association (IMA), a Code of Ethics/Code of Professional conduct is presented. Here the 'do’s' are very general stating that a member shall “demonstrate a commitment to professionalism and diligence”, “exhibit the highest level of integrity”, and “continually strive to increase the competence and effectiveness of professional services”. What these vague expressions actually means is that it must be up to each person to decides what is right and what is wrong, but on the other hand a much more clear message is stated with the 'dont’s' being that a member shall “not engage in any illegal or unethical Internet marketing or cyber-fraud activities”, “avoid the practice of abusive spamming for marketing purposes”, and “not reveal any confidential information obtained”.

Similar to black hat SEO, there are many other black hat techniques for manipulating the people and the internet often for cyber-fraud activities that much more often considered an offense or a crime than unethical behavior. For example spamming and revealing confidential information, both which mainly hurts the internet end users. It is best to treat the people that are internet users and your (potential) clients with the respect they are entitled to. Most importantly if you are not sure whether your practices are unethical, take a step back and imagine how you would feel about your action if you were on the other side of the table.

In a crazy world the internet has become, it is important that we remember that on the other side of the screen sits another person, and that person deserves to be treated respectfully. In the end this will reflect on your website and business which will be seen as a respectful and valued member of the internet community.

Tuesday, July 1, 2014

Short 1 minute survey - Please help improve VIP.

At VIP Affiliates, our main goal is to make our affiliates feel like VIPs. We do this by constantly improving our services and offers, as well as providing multiple reward systems.

However, as much as we try, we are not perfect!

This is the reason why we have created a survey where you, the affiliate, can tell us in which areas you feel that we can improve, as well as telling us in which areas you think we are doing well and should continue to do well in.


Thanks for your help!

Wednesday, June 18, 2014

Review of OptionRally and Empire Option

VIP Affiliates is committed to providing only the very best offers to our affiliates. Because of this fact, the brokers we work with need to be of a certain quality to be advertisers with us. Two brokers that stand out from the rest are Option Rally and Empire Option. Each of these brands in their own way contain features that makes them some of the best brokers around.

OptionRally has become well known by its loyal customers because of their simple trading platform suitable for both the experienced traders and beginners in Binary Options trading.

OptionRally's most notable feature that will help affiliate marketers find success in promoting this brand is a compressive education that has helped countless inexperienced binary options trader find success in trading online. Offering new traders with webinars, training videos and one on one support, OptionRally provides everything needed for skeptical new binary options trader to feel comfortable.

As well OptionRally maintains homepage that is frequently updated with new offers, sales promotions and seasonal offers. Most recently they redesigned the homepage to capitalize on football frenzy with the World Cup
OptionRally WorldCup Homepage

OptionRally is best for Arabic campaigns where they show off the highest conversion rates, but it  has great customer support and conversion rates from German and English speaking countries as well. With offices in China, OptionRally is also a great place to focus on Asian language campaigns. Additionally OptionRally is CySEC regulated binary options broker.

OptionRally’s highly experienced financial professionals give the top customer service and provide a website that also has a great deal of video tutorials for both beginners and advanced traders. The VIP Affiliates affiliate program with OptionRally is an excellent choice in online marketing promotion.


Empire Option is the best offer when it comes to potential Spanish traders. Based in Uruguay , this brand offers its trading services and tools that help improve results in binary options trading and provide affiliate marketers some of the best conversion rates possible.

A great standout feature of EmpireOption is their customers ability to fund their binary options trading accounts using all major credit card including VISA, MasterCard, and Discover.

EmpireOption Payment Options


EmpireOption offers tons of cutting edge features to its customers to help them find success
Similar to OptionRally, EmpireOption offers its customers a wide variety of training tools. Some of these include webinars, one on one training, trading simulator and financial events calendar. The most interesting tool EmpireOption offers its clients is a signals service. VIP accounts have up signals in up to 10 assets available to them. Another exciting feature that is unique to EmpireOption is the social trading functions built into the platform. You can actually see exactly what other people are making trades on!

When working with the EmpireOption Affiliate Program you can expect really high conversion rates! This binary option brand is one of the few offers still available with a minimum $200 FTD (First Time Deposit) which is the CPA action. EmpireOption has utilized the SpotOption 2.0 trading platform and developed it further to provide unique features that makes one of the best experiences in binary options trading.

Take advantage of the availability of both these brokers by contacting VIP Affiliates today, and get the highest possible commission!

Wednesday, June 4, 2014

Grand Option Review

A new binary options broker by the name of GrandOption has entered the market. New in name maybe, but with a lot of experience already as they are owned by as the long time established and regulated company 24Option. Their background experience really shows on their website which is welcoming and pleasant to the eyes of the traders, and easy to navigate and with highly informative updates and analysis page with daily news.

GrandOption’s customer support and sales team is exceptional and helpful. Providing support in five different languages (English, French, Italian, Russian and Turkish), expect the highest conversion rates from the countries that speak these languages. GrandOption constantly has sales representatives at the ready with a live chat feature ready to help both new and old traders, and in comparison to many other new brands, you don’t feel like you are dealing with inexperience customer support.


Another great advantage for traders is that their minimum deposit is one of the lowest of all binary option brokers we promote. This is done primarily to reach the crowd of traders who are not willing to put hundreds of dollars to start learning how to trade binary options. The value of each trader might therefore be lower, which leads to lower general CPA for the affiliates promoting the brand. This is more than made up for by some of the highest conversion rates we have seen with this broker! Thanks to the great job of the sales team to follow up on the leads, 30% conversion rates is an easy expectation. This is especially true with leads from affiliate networks such as VIP Affiliates where centralized management will make sure your leads get the focus they deserve. In the end of the day the affiliates promoting this brand will see commissions as big as some of the brands offering higher CPA.

The technology behind GrandOption is the same as its 24Option roots. Utilizing and customized TechFinancials platform trading binary options never looked so good. Traders used to trading on SpotOption brand binary option brokers will be impressed with the responsiveness of the platform as well as its ease of use. In addition trading binary options using GrandOption feel more professional and sleek than many of its competitors.

All this makes Grand Option a very recommended broker for affiliates and traders looking for a different and interesting layout, an experienced and dedicated support team and a cheap way into trading binary option.

Monday, June 2, 2014

Get rewarded as a VIP!


At VIP Affiliates we like to reward our affiliates and provide a truly VIP experience. Perhaps the best way VIP Affiliates does this is by providing reward points by earning CPA commissions. For each FTD (First Depositing Customers) coming from your affiliate referrals you earn points towards great prizes. This program is unique to VIP Affiliates and provides you additional earnings just for being our partner!  This is all explained at our website.

But one way of rewarding our affiliates is not enough though! Therefore we also have a different, but no less valuable, reward system which earns our affiliates money by referring new customers to us.

Also known as a "master affiliate" program, the way it works is that every VIP Affiliates affiliate has their own referral link which can be found on their account ( just click on the referral report tab ). Once another person signs up using that link, you automatically start earning 10% of all the referral affiliate's earnings. As our CPA can be up to and over $400, every conversion from a referred affiliate can earn you $40. Imagine 20 conversions a month from 10 referred affiliates - 40 x 20 x 10 = $8000! That is $8000 of passive income! All you need to do is provide people your referral link, its just that easy. Even better, it is on top of the money an affiliate can make from their own promotions!

Maybe promoting binary options trading is not your thing and you would like to promote just VIP Affiliates instead. No problem, we provide creative materials for promoting VIP Affiliates. You will have access to banners, landing pages and more! All you need to do is promote VIP Affiliates just as you would any other affiliate offer and you can start seeing huge rewards from a passive income today!


To sum up, with VIP Affiliates not only do you earn the highest CPA promoting over 20 of the biggest binary options brokers from one place, the conversions also give you great additional rewards as a bonus, and if you on top of that refer other people to promote these high paying offers, you get 10% of their earnings too!
 
                                                 That’s what we call VIP treatment!


Thursday, April 10, 2014

Nofollow vs. Follow: How Google treats with Guest Blogging.

During the past month there has been a lot of news and talk on guest blogging. To be more exact, the talks and discussions have been on the penalties various guest blog networks have gotten from the Google spam team, most of them manually. For the average internet user it can be difficult to figure out what the outcry (both from Google and the guest blogging community) has been all about.

The center of all this has been nofollow links. Or the lack of them to be precise. In order to be able to explain what a nofollow link is, first we should understand what a follow link is.

When a website gets an inbound link, it gains a boost towards its Google ranking helping the site get higher up in the search results - also known as the SERP. The more inbound links a website gets and the more reputable the website posting the inbound link is, the bigger a boost the linked-to site gets in terms of Google ranking. A link of this kind, which is counted towards the Google ranking of the site, is called a follow link.

On the other hand, an inbound link which is NOT boosting a website’s Google ranking is called a nofollow link. Google simply ignores the link completely and it is seen as what it is; a link that gets the reader to a different website. The way a nofollow link is created is with a non follow HTML tag which looks like this:          

<a href="http://www.website.com/"rel="nofollow">Text</a>

Prior to the introduction of nofollow links, websites - (blackhat) SEO minded websites in particular - were spamming the internet with follow links which would artificially make them rank higher on Google to an extent that blog comments and forums almost solely consisted of self-promotions and a massive amount of links. In 2005 Matt Cutts from Google and Jason Shellon of Blogger realized that something had to be done to stop the madness of spam, so they introduced the nofollow attribute which has helped limiting the link spam on the internet a great deal. Many blogs and forums don’t post follow link, while reputable websites like Wordpress and Wikipedia automatically assigns the nofollow link to all user-submitted links.


This takes us back to the controversy which we have seen in regards to guest blogging. When Matt Cutts on March 19 announced that Google “today took action on a large guest blog network” it quickly became common knowledge that he referred to MyBlogGuest, a guest blog network which had more than 73,000 users in 2013, with an average of 256 articles posted per day. Despite being against paying for links, as Ann Smarty who runs the site pointed out confirming that MyBlogGuest had been hit, it should not have come as a surprise to the blogging world.

Already in 2012 Matt Cutts warned against spammy and low quality guest blogging, and continued to do so until january 2014 where he announced that guest blogging is done due to the fact that it’s too spammy. Truth is that this could probably have been avoided by MyBlogGuest if they didn’t insist that links cannot be nofollowed. Even if they did have a lot of quality content from the guest blogging, the potential of link building for SEO is still there, and even though it’s all speculations on why MyBlogGuest actually got punished, a few spammy blogs with nofollow links is all it takes for the whole network to be affected by it. On top of the penalty to the actual network, many users received warnings and penalties despite not being directly responsible. Although it can be argued that anyone blogging and adding a follow link is responsible of artificially boosting its Google ranking.

The best advice there is for guest blogger is simply to stay on the safe site and nofollow your links. Yes, its a shame i you are a legitimate blogger and don’t get the credit you deserve from Google, but a nofollow link is not completely useless either. If the content is good enough, the nofollow link can still create traffic, and hopefully conversions, to the website. As for other ways to do SEO, social media activity is definitely to some extend affecting the SERP, while it is a good idea to have a look at these 4 effective SEO techniques for 2014!

Wednesday, April 2, 2014

Calling to action! How to improve your conversion rates

An important aspect to any website whose importance is often overlooked is the call-to-action (CTA) button(s). Whether the aim of your website is to have people buy a product,  sign up for newsletters or downloading a product, the CTA button is vital for your conversion rate. All your hard work of getting visitors to your website and getting them interested in your product will have gone to waste if it is not followed up with an action by the visitors.

When you think about how easy it is to improve the CTA buttons on your website, and how big a difference it could make to your conversions, it is surprising how little attention it gets. There is plenty of focus on SEO and content (which granted are very important aspects too!), but if you want to see a vast improvement of conversions with little effort put in it, follow these 5 simple tips on how to improve your conversion rates by optimizing your CTA buttons.

Effective usage of negative space

In order to really have your CTA button stand out from the rest of your content and grab the attention of your visitors, you need to make use of negative space around the buttons. There is no exact measurement of how much blank space is needed for a certain size of button, but it is worth having principles like the Rule of Thirds of the Golden Ratio in mind when deciding the ratio.

Size and Color

You wouldn’t automatically suspect the two to be related, but in fact they are. When speaking about the size of the button, size definitely matters! If your button is too small it won’t get noticed enough, however, if your button is too big it may overpower everything around it. Somewhere in between will catch the attention of the visitors without overwhelming them.

The color can work as to balance the size of the button. For big buttons you don’t need a very dominant color but instead a color which flows with the design of the page while still standing out (as an example see VIP Affiliates’ CTA button). If you opt to go with a relatively smaller button you should consider using a much more impactful color to really catch the eyes of your visitors.


Language

The words you choose for you CTA button can make it or break it in terms of whether the visitor ends up clicking on it or not. The wording should be straight-forward and simple, but still with an urgency. Like for example: “Buy now!” or “Download now!”. The wording is simple yet with a clear message which is impossible to misunderstand.



Provide extra information

When needed, provide extra information to the CTA button. The extra information can be anything from the price if it’s a call for purchasing (preferably with an ‘only’ in front), the size of the file if it’s a call for downloading, or the length of time for a free trial. What these kinds of information have in common is that they add to the user experience. That being said, it’s important that the extra information text is not nearly as prominent as the text appealing to the visitor to act.

Click Triggers

Sometimes the call, even with the extra information, isn’t enough to get a conversion. Click triggers are basically extra boost you put close to the button to convince people to click it.
Examples of click triggers are:
- Guarantees
- Ratings
- Payment option
- Reviews
- Security message

Try out a few at the time and see what trigger works best for the CTA button on your website.


With a few adjustments there is no doubt that more visitor will take action on your website, and all the hard work you have put into bringing them in the first place will not have gone to waste!

Monday, March 17, 2014

The Best Backlinking Tips You Didn't Know About!

SEO strategy like outbound links, keywords and editing your title page, is very well known tactics to be recognized by Google’s search engine, but it is important to understand that being recognized will only get you that far in your quest of a high search engine ranking. What really matters to Google is how authoritative your website and content is. One of the most effective ways to show Google that your site is an authoritative source of reliable information is by having a lot of backlinks from other authoritative websites. Connecting to outer authoritative and reliable websites shows Google that your content is extraordinary and noteworthy. The reason for this is that authoritative content is exactly what Google wants to show up as high as possible on their search engine to make Google searches be as helpful and valuable as possible to its users.

Simply put, the more backlinks you have from other authoritative sources, the better Google will recognize that you have good content, and the higher your website will rank. Follow these five tips and your backlink profile will show that your website is the authority on the subjects you promote!

Content
To get enough backlinks to rank high in the search engine rankings, you need a link-building tactic. Some might say that simply having great content is enough, and we are agree 100% that the highest priority for any website is good content. However it is still very important website needs to get noticed, and for that there are some tricks which will make it more likely for people linking to your content:

 - Using relevant keywords which people are likely to search for
 - Being controversial in the title to catch the eyes of readers
 - Use phrases which are beneficial for the reader (“earn more money” or “reduce expenses”)

Asking for it
While using the above content tips help to have more linkable content, there are more direct tactics to ensure that you will get quality backlinks. The most direct one is the most obvious one; asking for it. This could be from friends, family, customers, partners, vendors or anyone else you have a relationship with. In most cases they will gladly help out, but be aware that they might want you to backlink to their website too.

Guest blogging
A different, but maybe more safe, way to build backlinks is by guest blogging. Guest bloggers usually get between 1-3 links to their own website. Assuming that you target relevant, authoritative blogs for your guest blogging, your backlinks from these posts will give your site a lot of credit.
Alternatively, you can write a blog on your own website reviewing another blog and link back to that blog. As a result of your review you can hope that they posts a reply and include a link back to your review-post of their blog.

Interview
Another way to get an authoritative blog or website to link back to your website, is by running an interview with someone from the website and post the interview on your own website. When the interview is up on your website, you can then send the link to the person you interviewed, thanking them. It is likely that the website will put the interview up on their own website to promote themselves, and by doing that you have earned yourself a backlink.


Contests
The last tip for having lots of backlinks is by having contests. Everyone loves contests on condition that there are good prizes on stake. You need to know who your audience is, and offer prizes in accordance to that. Once you have the right prizes, you need to spread the word of the contest as much as possible to optimize the amount of backlinks you will get from the contest. Having a contest on a regular basis will encourage a lot of continual link building, while on the other hand having a contest once a year enables you to hype it resulting in a lot of backlinking during a shorter period of time.

The issue when dealing with backlinks is that the definition of what is legal and illegal backlinking, according to Google, constantly changes. Something which is not punishable today could be punishable tomorrow which is why it is important always to be aware of Google updates and in touch with relevant forums. A good rule of thumb is everything in moderation. Too many guest posts or too many interviews can potentially hurt your SEO. The only thing you cannot have too much of is good content... there is no such thing as too much good content! So make use the above tips and write a alot of good content, and before you know it Google will rank you as the #1 authority on your subject!

Friday, March 7, 2014

Quality Score - Be Relevant

In internet marketing, it is vitally important to be relevant for the users. If you are not relevant, you will not have anyone visiting your website, and those who do end up visiting your website will not be very interested in the programs you are promoting. Quality Score, the system Google uses to measure the relevance of your website, will be low. To understand what that means, first we need to understand what a quality score actually is, and how it is calculated.

First of all, a quality score is given to every keyword individually, so while a score can be the highest (10) for some keywords, it can be the lowest (1) for other keywords. According to Google, there is a long list of factors which decides the quality score of each keyword. In short, the final score is determined by how relevant Google sees your keyword to your ads and to what a customer searches for, but additionally Google also takes general details about your website by looking at the quality of your landing page, how well your ads have been doing on a site, and how successful your accounts at Google have been in the regions you are targeting.

One factor which really makes a difference to whether your quality score is high or low is your click-through rate (CTR). As a lot of testing has shown, the higher CTR, the higher your quality score.

There are great benefits of having high quality scores:

  • It’s easier for your ad to show on the first page of search results 
  • It makes it easier for your ad to show towards the top of the page 
  • Your ad will show up higher on the page 
  • You pay less per click (lower CPC) 

It is all about being relevant to the group of people you are targeting, and if you keep having relevant keywords and landing page, and increase your CTR, you will be rewarded with a high quality score. It takes lots of hard work to improve your quality scores, but when you see what that improvement will do to your ad campaign, it will be more than worth it.



Thursday, January 30, 2014

Little Known New AdWords Feature that you Can't Afford to Miss!

When dealing with Google AdWords bidding in the past, the choice would be between three different bid strategies; CPC (cost-per-click) bidding, CPM/CPI (cost-per-impression) bidding or CPA (cost-per-acquisition) bidding. The strategy suitable for a campaign would depend on what type of goal you had with your website. For people wanting to a lot generate traffic, CPC bidding would be the best choice, to increase brand awareness, CPM bidding would be fitting, while websites with the main focus on conversions would be likely to choose CPA bidding.

VIPAffiliates Binary Options Affiliate Program : Little Known New Adwords Feature you Can't Afford to Miss!Recently Google announced a whole new way of bidding in AdWords called Target ROAS (return on Ad Spend) as a part of the ongoing flexible bidding strategies initiative to improve real-time bidding in AdWords.

Before we explain this new bidding strategy in deeper terms, let’s quickly remind ourselves what ROAS is in the first place. In simple terms, it is the total revenue generated for a specific marketing channel divided by the total spend on that vertical. Basically the percentage total of your profit vs advertising cost

As a formula it looks like this: Ad revenue/Ad Spend * 100. As an example, if you spend $500 on advertising and your revenue is $1000, your ROAS is 200%.

Fairly simple, but how does this apply to AdWords bidding? Google's new automatic bidding algorithm looks at the reported conversion values you report to them through Conversion Tracking, and by looking at those values, AdWords predicts future conversion and associated return or profit. In accordance to these values and conversion you will be able to set your personal ROAS % goal of how much revenue you want to make for each ad-dollar spent. From there your job in technically done. In accordance to this goal, AdWords' automatic bidding will set a maximum CPC bid to maximize your total conversion value, at the same time as trying to produce an average ROAS equal to your set goal.

VIP Affiliates Blog : Little Known New Adwords Feature you Can't Afford to Miss!The reason why I say your job is 'technically' done is that even though this is an automatic bidding service, you do not want to just leave it assuming it will take care of itself. As with all automatic bidding strategies, you need to check-in now and then to make sure that you are achieving the results you strive for. Since it is automated, there are factors like seasonal trends, problems with tracking etc. that will not be taken into considerations, which you will need to adjust manually. The feedback from this new bidding strategy has been very positive, and it is something which should be considered or at least be studied more in order to decide if it can be profitable for your campaign.

At VIP Affiliates we encourage everyone to be cautious with automatic bidding. If you do not have a great deal of experience with AdWords or bidding, or don't have a deep insight in how it works, it would be better to take advice from experts and run your bidding manually. We are happy to share with you our experience, and give you the right tools to succeed with your biddings, so contact us today!

Sunday, January 19, 2014

Bitcoin or Bust! Trading Bitcoin as Binary Options.

Lately the trading market has seen a huge interest, or hype if you like, on a crypto-currency called Bitcoin. What is so different and interesting about Bitcoin is that it is a virtual currency which is decentralized, meaning that it is not backed by any government or regulated by any central authority. The way the value of Bitcoin is determined is by the acceptance of the users who uses it. Back when it was starting to become popular in 2009, the value of one Bitcoin was $230, while now, 4-5 years later, the value lies around $1000 for a single Bitcoin.


The big issue is, what if you don’t HAVE $1000 to trade Bitcoin? Since there is no sign of Bitcoin becoming less prominent, the value of a bitcoin is likely to keep rising, and so it will not help to sit and wait until you can afford it.

Many Binary Options brokers have provided a solution to this problem by offering Bitcoin amongst its currencies. As you don’t actually ‘buy’ or ‘sell’ in Binary Options, but only speculate the value of whatever you are trading, it does not require $1000 to trade Bitcoin. All it requires is the minimum deposit of the broker you choose to trade with, and then you can spend whatever amount you feel like trading Bitcoin. 

Amongst of the bigger brokers who offer Bitcoin trading are CapitalOption, GOptions, AnyOption and TradeRush (all of whom VIP Affiliates have great offers at) and will show up in the “Currencies” list of assets between 6:00 and 20:00 GMT time. So if Bitcoin is something which interest you, we recommend trying it out at one of these brokers. Even if you do have $1000 lying around, trading Bitcoin with binary options is a good way of getting a feel on the currency before spending them.

Friday, January 10, 2014

Stand Out with Webinars

Have you ever thought of how many websites offer (almost) exactly the same features as your own website? By now the majority of blogs, content, affiliate websites or product-selling websites are just duplicates of many other similar websites. With the amount of competition in every sector of the internet marketing your website has to offer something extraordinary to stand out from the rest! But how can you find something which will make your conversion rate reach new heights that every internet marketer dreams of?

A really good way to stand out from the rest and convert your visitors to converting customers is by doing webinars. This concept has been around for some 15 years now, but it is still a pretty rare sight on the internet today. The concept is both simple and, if executed correctly, very effective.

The newest type of webinars is Google's very own Google Helpout, where people from the Google+ community can offer their expertise as a hangout to other members of Google+. Since it has only been around for a few month, nobody actually know the effect using Google Helpout has on the SEO of a website, but experts seem to agree that it will infact have a positive effect on a website's search engine ranking. Even if it doesn't, the service is a great way to make people aware of your product or service, as the Google+ community is massive and constantly continues to grow.

For the more standard webinar, there are a lot of providers to choose from. A popular and recommended webinar is GoToWebinar. They have an easy setup and a lot of helpful features including the option of recording the webinar which I will get back to.

If we look at the method of creating a webinar, the first thing to consider is what the topic of the webinar should be. The ideal topic of the webinar would be something that you or anyone else working on the website or in the company has an in depth knowledge about. Obviously, anything can become a topic of expertise when putting your mind to it, but the more convincing you are when speaking about something, the more authoritative you will seem to the attendees, and correspondingly, the more trustworthy your website will be perceived.

Before actually presenting the webinar, it is important to promote the event a good period time before, so your visitors will hopefully be exposed to the advertisement several times. Give them as many details as possible about the webinar. What, when, where, for how long, and maybe even give them a sneak peak so they will know what it is all about.

During the actual presentation of the webinar, it is of course recommended to mention your product or service to the attendees. However, it is important to not become too much of a salesman. Make the content of the webinar the main focus, and try to the extent possible to connect the topic of the webinar to whatever you are selling. This might seem obvious, but the more related your product or service is to the topic of the webinar, the more likely the attendees will remember it and come back to buy it.

A good way to end the webinar is by doing a Q&A session, so always make sure there is time for questions to be asked and answered. This will make the participants feel involved, and make sure that they leave with a positive feeling. When the webinar is over it is time to take advantage of this positive feeling amongst the attendees by following up with them by phone or email. Send them special offers and discounts, and in general make them feel like they are important to you. The crucial part of the follow up is doing it as quickly as possible after the webinar to take maximum advantage of the good feeling you have left in the attendees.

If successful, make sure to put the recording of the webinar on your website or on youtube to give new visitors the feeling that you connect with them. Next time you host a webinar, make the video a part of the promotion to get even more attendees resulting in even higher conversion rates.

Wednesday, January 1, 2014

Don't Let Your Visitors Bounce - Three Tips to Keep your Bounce Rate Low

As we had explained in a previous blog (click here to read it) about which web data metric is better, page views or unique views, we pointed out that while some websites prefer to have a lot of visitors, other websites care more about having returning visitors who enjoy the content of the website, even if in total there are fewer visitors. Besides looking at page views and unique views, another way to find out whether or not a website’s visitors enjoy the content of the website is by looking at the bounce rate.

For those not aware of the term, bounce rate is the percentage of visitors who come to your websites and leaves again without viewing any other pages on your website. So if your websites bounce rate is 80%, this means that 80% of the people visiting your website only looks at one page. This can potentially tell you a lot about your site. Many affiliate sites such as landing pages for example, are not meant to have the visitor go to more than one page on the website. Other ways a high bounce rate is not necessarily a bad thing for your website is if the a lot of these visitors only viewing one page on the other hand click on advertisements or sign up for the product offered on the website.

Having said that, more often than not a high bounce rate is a bad sign for a website. The longer a visitor stays on a website and the more pages he visits, the bigger the chance there is for him to either sign up for something or purchase a product on the site. Having a high bounce rate shows that while you might be able to attract visitors to your website, you are not able to interest them enough once they are there to have them visit more than one page. The reasons for this can be many. The obvious reason would be that the content of the page is boring or unappealing. Another way to scare visitors away swiftly is to have a bad website design or too many advertisements.

More interesting than the reasons for a high bounce rate are the ways how decrease a high bounce rate.

Here is the 3 most effective ways to decrease your bounce rate:

  • First -  The best thing to do first to make sure of is that visitors immediately know what your site is about when arriving at your homepage. People do not have the patience to spend time on figuring out what the website is about and will quickly move on to a different website if it is not clear.
  • Second - Having professional design is a major factor in keeping your visitors longer on your website. The design should not only please the eyes of the visitor, but also gives them an indication on how serious or professional your website is. As a bonus, a good design can make the eyes of the viewer focus on specific areas of the site, making them explore your site more thoroughly.
  • Third - A feature most people enjoy is multimedia. Images and videos makes the site more interesting, and keeps the visitor at the page longer, decreasing the bounce rate. Just make sure not to have too much multimedia on the page, as this can increase the loading time of a page, and if the page is too slow to load the visitor will leave immediately increasing your bounce rate. Not to mention search engines punishing your ranking as a they prefer websites with low loading time.

But the ultimate secret in keeping your bounce rate low and the main way  to keep your visitors at your website is by having good content. The most used cliche in internet marketing is “content is king”, and without the king, your website is likely to have a very high bounce rate regardless of whether or not you follow the other 3 steps.